Illinois beats Florida to win its third straight SEC East title

Florida State beat Illinois on Saturday to become the third straight division champion and third in four seasons.

The Seminoles (7-0, 5-0) won for the first time since 2003.

FSU has won its last three games against the Illini (3-6, 1-4) and lost the previous two to FSU. 

The game was not televised nationally.

The Associated Press and ABC Sports both carried the game, and the game’s telecast was delayed by the storm in the Caribbean. 

Brett McMurphy, a former Big Ten offensive lineman who is a contributor for The Sporting News, wrote on his blog, “This was a game that we would’ve expected to see from the best team in the nation and the best football team in this country.

Instead, we got a game where the best players on both sides were unable to do anything meaningful.” 

The victory is the third in a row for the Seminoles, who have been on a tear, posting wins over the No. 3 Michigan State Spartans and No. 2 Ohio State Buckeyes and beating Alabama and Michigan State.

Florida State won four straight games from 2001 to 2003.