How Florida State did it: The ‘frozen game’ was the biggest in FSU history

The Florida State football team took the field at noon on Saturday for the second time this season in its first bowl game.

The Seminoles, who defeated No. 4 LSU by a score of 31-20 in the BCS title game last season, will play host to Alabama for the title of the National Championship Game.

The game will be televised nationally by CBS.

The Seminoles have won seven straight games against the Crimson Tide.

They have not won in BCS bowl games since 1998.

They did not win the Bicentennial Classic against Clemson in 2018, which was played in a neutral site.

But Florida State won the national title in 2022 and was the first FSU team to win a BCS National Championship since 1992.

The last time the Seminoles lost in a Bicentenary Classic was in 2006.

After a scoreless first quarter, FSU got a big stop from sophomore linebacker Deion Jones.

FSU quarterback Malik Zaire drove the Seminole defense to the line of scrimmage and took the snap on a third-and-6.

Fournette then forced a fumble in the backfield and Jones then ran a slant route to set up Jones for a 15-yard touchdown pass to FSU wide receiver Kenny Golladay.

Fsu coach Jimbo Fisher called it “a good play.”

The Seminole offense had an opportunity to tie the game late in the first quarter when sophomore linebacker Jarrad Davis had an interception for a loss of 4-7.

But FSU receiver A.J. Johnson picked off Davis.

The Tide took a 7-0 lead into the second quarter.

Florida State quarterback Deshaun Watson threw for 295 yards, a touchdown and two interceptions.

He also rushed for a score.

Florida Southern quarterback Zach LeDay completed 12 of 16 passes for 138 yards and a touchdown, and senior wide receiver Kadeem Davis caught a pair of passes for 34 yards.

Fuscks had a season-high four sacks.

Florida State was the second-ranked team in the country.

Florida is playing in the Citrus Bowl for the first time since 2010, when the Seminos won the ACC championship and reached the Sugar Bowl for a third consecutive year.